LENE/CHAIRMANS PAIRS: On Lough Lene the Chairman’s Pairs fly competition was held on Sunday 29th September. It proved a huge success, with John McGuire and Denis Goulding taking top rod with 2.64kg, 2nd was Alan Russell and Niall Maher with 1.66kg and 3rd was Stuart Killeen and Fergal Burke with 1.62kg. Also up for grabs on the day was the Angler of The Year prize and Dermott Leonard received this prize from Chairman Tom Fagan. That’s the last competition on Lene for this season and the lake closes on October 12th.

Sleator Cup/ Tyrrell McKeever Trophy on Ennell: Ennell anglers were also in action last Sunday and fished the Christy Sleator Perpatual Cup as well as the Angler of the Year prize. It was a good day for Martin McGorian as he won the Christy Sleator Cup with a fine trout of 3.80lbs and also picked up the Tyrrell/McKeever trophy for Ennells Angler of the Year. Colin Cahill was 2nd in the Sleator Cup with 3.37lbs, 3rd was Brendan Murray and 4th was D. Barren.

DERRAVARAGH DALY/GIBSON CUP: Derravaragh fished well last Sunday for the Daly/Gibson Cup with some super wild brown trout caught. Keith Fleming topped the day with a 5lbs trout, Sean Daly took 2nd with 4lbs 8oz and Andy Mitchell was 3rd. Up on 7 trout were caught and returned as Derravaragh trout competitions are catch and release. It’s all coming to an end for trout fishing on Derravaragh on October 12th, so now is the time to get a day on Derravaragh, before the season ends. The club is open for membership and they have some pike competitions penciled in for November and December.